Use of Knickernappies Superdos in Applecheek diapers - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 03-27-2012, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi everyone,

I'm new to cloth diapering and I'm looking for some advice with the new inserts I have.  I purchased a large lot of Knickernappies Superdos inserts after researching them online.  They seem to be incredibly absorbant and very efficient for nighttime use.  I tried using one in my Applecheeks enveloppe cover and ended with some leakage around the stomach and one leg elastic.  Any ideas on how to correct this?  Also, if any of you use these inserts, what covers do you prefer using them with?

Thanks everyone!

Felibobo

#2 of 5 Old 03-27-2012, 03:44 PM

Inserts aren't diapers.  They're meant to go inside a diaper.  You're expecting them to act like a diaper, and they really don't.  I'm not really sure why that is though.  You may need more width, you may need more absorbency in the wet zone.  You may just need more bulk. 

You didn't indicate whether the leakage was during sleep, whether you have a boy or girl, whether the insert was damp or soaked, what position babe was sleeping in when it leaked, etc.  All of those would help pinpoint the exact problem you're having. 

Cristeen ~ Always remembering our stillheart.gif  warrior ~ Our rainbow1284.gif  is 3, how'd that happen?!?! 

We welcomed another rainbow1284.gifstillheart.gif  warrior in May 2012!! 

2012 Decluttering challenge - 575/2012

#3 of 5 Old 03-27-2012, 04:41 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Yeah the Super Do is supposed to go inside a pocket diaper.  I have a couple, haven't looked at them in a long time (we eventually went to disposables for overnight) but I seem to remember they have a microfiber layer over the hemp?  If so you definitely don't want to use them next to baby's skin, microfiber is irritating.  HTH

Me, DH, DD1 (5/2009) and DD2 (10/2011).
I'm not crunchy. I'm evidence-based.