Want to give me a cloth diapering pep talk? :) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 06-22-2012, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello ladies, 

I'm a newbie here, just found out I'm pregnant with our 6th baby.  :)

I have a nice stash of cloth dipes-- kissaluvs, pocket dipes, hemp inserts, Chinese prefolds, Imse Vimse covers (which I loved!!!) and more.

I used them with dd, from when she was 10 mos old until she potty trained around 2.  Then I used them with ds(#4) until he was about a year old.  I tried them with ds #5 and couldn't even make it past about 6 diapers.  I don't know why but just the sheer exhaustion, I guess.  So much to do... homeschooling, regular cleaning/meals/laundry/etc., spending time with the kiddos, nursing the new baby, etc., trying to get sleep, that I just didn't even want to "go there".  It just seemed like more work & I remember being icked out that time around by the actual dealing with the poop.

So, just a few weeks ago, I put together a list of all my dipes and started poking around diaperswappers.com thinking that maybe I'd sell them... but then we turned out pregnant.  :)  LOL

So now I'm second guessing myself.  Would you want to give me your best "why cloth diaper", or "why I should give it another whirl with baby #6" pep-talk?  :)  I'd love you for it.  I definitely want to think through everything WELL before I decide to sell, and then end up regretting it.  I did love it with dd and even with ds #4, feeling like I was giving him a great start, plus he just looked so doggone cute with those puffy bottoms.  :)

OK, TIA for any pep talks!!! :)

Jess, happy wife to Doug, mom to E (ds10), B (ds8), M (dd6), S (ds4), M (ds2), and a little 2013 valentine (dsT, due 2/18)

I blog at makinghome.blogspot.com

#2 of 27 Old 06-22-2012, 01:47 PM