Urgent help with CDs to a total noob - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-07-2012, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi,

I have a 7-day old and he is starting to show signs of diaper rash (we use disposables). 

I am completely overwhelmed right now and have had no sleep for past week. PLEASE.... if I want to start him on cloth diapers.... what can I buy which should be just like disposables but made of cloth.

Meaning.,.. I read some past threads and people are using all kinds of terminology that is confusing me. Covers? Waterproof layer (meaning plastic?)- washing methods and inserts????

What are all those? So if I buy fuzzibunz (say) then I am just buying covers? Where do I get inserts? And what do the inserts stay in - layer of plastic/cloth? I want to buy everything as one diaper... can't stitch to save my life.Don't want to keep ordering and returning from Amazon......

Please.... what can I buy that is the complete thing + will hold everything in+size (my LO was 7 pounds at birth.) and is soft that it won't hurt my LOs bum anymore?

TIA

#2 of 8 Old 09-07-2012, 08:52 PM

Hey mama,

First of all, just take a breath and have a cup of tea. hug2.gif

Second, a quick terminology glossary:

AIO = All in One = a waterproof diaper with an insert sewn in.  This would be the most similar to a disposable but sometimes they can take a while to dry. (eg. Kissas, BumGenius Freetime, Swaddlebees)

Pocket = a waterproof diaper that has a 'pocket' that you slide an insert into.  A lot of brand new pocket diapers come with inserts (eg. Fuzzibunz, BumGenius 4.0, Rumparooz)

AI2 = All in Two = a waterproof diaper with an insert that lays on top of (or snaps to) the cover. (eg. Applecheeks, Lil Helpers, Best Bottoms)

To make your life simpler you might want to get one-size (OS) diapers.