Do you soak your diapers or just store till ready to wash?! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 11-14-2012, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi all,

I am kinda new to cloth diapering, but having a great experience now that the kinks are worked out, mostly thanks to all your great advice! thumb.gif

My question is this: Do you have to soak your diapers. I keep a bin of soapy water in the bath tub next to DS room, but I find when it is time to wash them it is kind of a pain bc they are soaking wet in yucky pee/poop water, and it kind of gets all over everything while I am transporting them to the washing machine.

What are your tricks to avoid this? Do you even both soaking? I only wash diapers once a week, we have enough to go that long. So some diapers would be sitting around for up to 4 days.

THANK YOU!!

Me, slinggirl.gif mama to 1.5 yr old kid.gifDS, step mama to two tweens, married to a sarcastic sports nut censored.gif. We are unschooling! mdcblog5.gif http://twocoolfourschool.wordpress.com/

#2 of 13 Old 11-14-2012, 08:39 AM

How old is your DS? Is he EBF or eating solids?

I do not soak my diapers, but we have to wash them about every 2.5 days. My DD is just starting to have "real" poops, and I will be buying a diaper sprayer to spray them off before I put them in the bin. I would think spraying off the chunks and then dipping the diaper in the toilet would be enough to combat smell so you would be able to store them in a dry bin.

If it does start to smell, you could add some baking soda to the bin, it can go right in the wash with the diapers. I have found keeping the lid of the diaper pail also helps to combat smell. 

I would be totally grossed out by yucky pee/poop water too 

lactivist.gifnovaxnocirc.gif Acd.gif'ing, winner.jpg,familybed1.gif,femalesling.GIFread.gif Momma to one DD 1/1/12 ribboncesarean.gif. Trying to goorganic.jpg and hoping for a hbac.gif next time!