Help!!! New to this... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 10-23-2013, 07:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am new to cloth diapering and I'm trying to figure out what to buy. I have a chunky 9 month old girl. She is 22lbs. I have no clue what brand or combination to go with. There are just so many options out there. Help please!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 12 Old 10-24-2013, 03:27 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)

Welcome, welcome!!!

It's been a while since I was a diapering mama, but I am going to give your post a bump so someone is sure to see it!! Thanks for your patience!!

#3 of 12 Old 10-24-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter

Thank you!
#4 of 12 Old 10-24-2013, 01:13 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)

I have one baby.  I am technically a user of both cloth and disposables believing both have their place and perks.  However, I'd say cloth diapering is used more often.

I have used nothing but prefolds and flats and have not yet felt compelled to try anything fancier.  These are a bit more work than any of the fancier cloth diapering options, but not that much according to friends.

What I like best about these is they are very up for customization.  In your case, I would recommend Diaper Rite prefolds as I find them wider.  Thristies covers are adjustable, again making it possible to fit pretty much any baby (they come in two sizes).

--Breastfeeding----2nd grade Teaching----Cosleeping----Cloth Diapering -- --Bookworm Mom
#5 of 12 Old 10-25-2013, 12:00 PM

I love prefolds and covers (especially wool) for younger babies, but as they get more mobile, you may want to switch to something that is quicker to put on.  We do EC so for us at that point we switch to training pants.