New to wool....now what??? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 02-26-2014, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Im trying to convert all of my diaper covers to wool but Im a novice at crocheting and cant afford to buy new. I did however find some used wool sweaters for dirt cheap in hopes of sewing them into something useful. And Im also having a friend help me with my crochet technique. Im a bit overwhelmed with all the research Ive done on how to care for them so if anyone has any helpful tips or links to provide I would greatly appreciate it!

We are a treehugger.gif family by nature...my beloved partner in life hippie.gifour little drummer boydrum.gif(Apr.2011) and Autumnal girlflower.gif(Oct.2013)       goorganic.jpgsigncirc1.gif  h20homebirth.gif  namaste.gif 
#2 of 8 Old 02-26-2014, 11:43 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)

Firstly make sure the wool you use is not machine washable, as wool treated to be machine washable will not accept lanolin.

Secondly, to lanolise your nappy covers, by far the simplest way is to use soluble lanolin (you can usually find on ebay). If you use solid lanolin it's really messy and you usually end up using far more the you really need, so it's extravagant. The soluble stuff you just add to warm water, a bit like fabric conditioner, and leave the cover to soak for a few hours. 

Wool covers just need hanging to air between uses. You don't need to wash them very often at all - just when they're grubby looking or starting to smell a bit after airing, or not be as waterproof, in which case they need a wash in delicate or wool wash, and then probably a re-lanolising treatment.

#3 of 8 Old 02-27-2014, 09:36 AM

Wool can seem overwhelming at first but it really is easy!