2Likes
  • 1 Post By Littlepants
  • 1 Post By rinap
  • 1 Post By doopamama

#1 of 17 Old 05-18-2014, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Hi mamas, I'm very new to cd-ing, and think I'm going to go with the folded flat n cover route (at least that's how lit looks in my head). I also live in so-cal, desert area and this past week we got temps as high at 106-108!!!!! This babe isn't due until September, so I've got some time, but I wanted to get some opinions on good breathable covers. I'm thinking a light weight wool cover, but then I started to think, WHAT IF the baby is allergic!??!?! Is this a thing? Any one experience this? I'm hesitant to use the vinyl type or vinyl covered cotton, those just don't seem very airy to me. Thoughts? Suggestions? Links? ;-) TIA!!!!

"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." ~Dr. Seuss
#2 of 17 Old 05-19-2014, 09:55 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
From what I've read wool is for the most sensitive of bambinos. I use the pul covers. And when I visit the very hot and humid OK in the summer my DD almost always gets heat rash. So we will be taking wool with us next trip for sure. I'd like to know about alternatives as well though.
#3 of 17 Old 05-19-2014, 11:26 PM

I would go with wool over pul.  Ours are all hand-me downs, so we use a variety, also we EC.  It gets to be over 100F here and we've never had a problem with overheating.  How much time do you spend out in the high temps?  I have never heard of wool diaper cover allergies, but I have seen diaper rash on many different babies who wear many different diapers.

#4 of 17 Old 05-20-2014, 12:32 AM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mama505 View Post