Stripping with no hot water? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By marilyn612

#1 of 5 Old 05-23-2014, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My washing machine doesn't have a hot setting, only warm. What would be the best way to strip my diapers? I have a mix of mostly prefolds but some microfiber and hemp inserts. I've never really stripped them before--I've used bleach and sunned them but now that we started CDing overnight we are having urine/barnyard stink issues (not much ammonia that I can detect, though). No major stink problems with the cotton, only the hemp and microfiber, which makes me think it's a bacteria issue--but I'd like to strip them just in case. I wash with Tide Original powder.

What do you do? I can't find any stripping methods that don't involve washing on hot.

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#2 of 5 Old 05-23-2014, 07:40 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Turn the cold water off to the washer....instant hot cycle!
doopamama and Blanca78 like this.
#3 of 5 Old 05-24-2014, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I think I've tried that before--hmm. We're in a new house since then. Will try it today!

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#4 of 5 Old 06-06-2014, 05:27 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Some consider this practice dangerous... but boil the diapers on the stove.
#5 of 5 Old 06-25-2014, 03:56 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Backroads View Post
Some consider this practice dangerous... but boil the diapers on the stove.
I've done that a few times! It definitely works at least to get everything to a "clean start"