Have you ever changed a dry diaper - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2004, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
 
Cenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
just because you wanted to put your babe in something else? Do you put the dry diaper in the pail or save it for later use, since it's not dirty?
Cenae is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-09-2004, 04:37 PM
 
CurlyMint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yes I have, yesterday in fact. I throw it in the pail with the other dirty dipes, not to used again until clean.
CurlyMint is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 04:43 PM
 
~*~MamaJava~*~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yes I have too! Just on for long enough to be wet, but wasn't. I do throw it in the wash . Never know what's in there...
~*~MamaJava~*~ is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 04:44 PM
 
TOmomma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yep, if I'm going out and want him in something cute. I, on the other hand, just chuck it back in the pile if it's not wet. Colour me lazy.
TOmomma is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 04:56 PM
 
JCEmommy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yes I have and I throw it in the pail to be washed.
JCEmommy is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 05:23 PM
 
Adamsmama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I don't wash it if there is no wetness on it (or poopie of course). I only do it if I realize it is too thin to leave the house, if it is a cover that leaks or something like that...
Adamsmama is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 05:41 PM
 
Frogmorest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
With some of my fitteds I really can't tell if it's wet unless I touch it so I usually just chuck it in the wash. I do make sure she is in her cutest stuff when we go out

Tam
Frogmorest is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 05:43 PM
 
scorpioqueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yes sometimes Ive done a diaper change close to bedtime and then will diaper again with her nighttime system and often will have dry diaper when I change her if shes only had it one a short time (within 30 mintues I ussually will reuse it any longer and I still wash it.

DK
scorpioqueen is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 06:29 PM
 
mommy2noah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Heck yea I have! And I always put it back on the shelf to be used again. It's not dirty so why wash it??

Heather belly.gif,  Jesus Lovin' Homeschoolin' Mama to Noah(9) & Jonah(7), and expecting rainbow1284.gifPatricia Carrylrainbow1284.gif on 8/23/13!!

Heavenly babies: ribbonpb.gif14wks 10/28/04 and stillborn baby at 17wks 10/18/11ribbonpb.gif

mommy2noah is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 06:49 PM
 
twouglyducks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
All the time. LOL For no reason. Just b/c I decide a different diaper would be cuter at the moment.... Or if I just finished one and want to see how it looks... I just put it somewhere to be worn again if it's still dry and clean.
twouglyducks is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 06:51 PM
 
tuffykenwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yep but usually only because it is time for the night time diaper change (which is *always a Diaperworks pocket stuffed with hemp*). Whether it is wet or dry though it gets thrown in the wash with the rest of the diapers. I don't re-use my underwear so I don't figure DS ought to have to either KWIM?

Steph

Steph~~momma to Rhys 2002, Niamh 2004, Isla 2007 and Deirdre 2009
tuffykenwell is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 11:11 PM
 
Izzybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Missing St. Catharines, Loving PA
Posts: 2,922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DH does this, I think only to annoy me, and it works.
If I catch him, I put it in the clean pile
Izzybee is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 11:52 PM
 
HoosierDiaperinMama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Missing my DD's
Posts: 6,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yes. I have done this before but usually it's not intentional. I'll *think* it's time to change him and he ends up being dry. But, with a squirmy toddler you may as well just put another one on!

, , , mama to Ross , Reagan (8/29/05), Joshua (from Haiti...here NOW due to the earthquake!), and Elijah , born safely 9-8-09.
HoosierDiaperinMama is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 12:02 AM
 
mom2kbeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've done it, too. I usually throw it in the pail to wash again. The only exception would be when I change Holden and then he spits up everywhere, so I put him right in the tub before he has a chance to pee. Then i'll usually put the same dipe back on him when he's out of the tubby.

I will mostly change a dry diaper when I want to put him in something cuter for going out (or hanging around home with no pants on!) or for night time (when he has to wear a FB, Wonderoo, Knickernappie or NIghtlight w/ wool)
mom2kbeth is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 05:35 AM
 
ChristinaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a few times, all throwing them in the pail. Only once (today) did I re-use it cause we were at my moms and I didn't have enough to last the whole day otherwise. And today, I changed it because he was going down for a nap... he has certain nap/night diapers.
ChristinaB is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 11:51 AM
 
Book Addict Jen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 4,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yes & reuse it next change.
Book Addict Jen is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 12:07 PM
 
dawpaycammom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have too, LOL! Especially when I get a new diaper! As soon as it is washed and dried I put it on him, even if the one he is wearing is not wet! I throw it in the diaper pail with the rest of the dirty ones.
dawpaycammom is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 12:52 PM
 
delicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: a country i can be proud of.
Posts: 3,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yeah i have if he is in a prefold and we are about to go out. he has outgrown his prefolds so they can't be snappied, so that's not really a cool thing to go out in. then i put the dry prefold on my pillow. no jk. i don't get why you wash a dry diaper though!
delicious is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 02:09 PM
 
cj'smommy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamsmama
I don't wash it if there is no wetness on it (or poopie of course). I only do it if I realize it is too thin to leave the house, if it is a cover that leaks or something like that...
same here

Mommy of 3 super charged kiddos
cj'smommy is offline  
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off