Quick question - vaseline to prevent diaper rash? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-16-2006, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i'm still learning about how the dipeing process works, so..

does it make sense to apply Vaseline to baby's bum before a new nappy to prevent nappy rash?
or is that bad in some way (for baby or for dipe) and should only be used to treat existing nappy rash?

thanks for answers! (i haven't really got anyone else to ask little questions like these of)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-16-2006, 03:03 PM

In the last 2 years, my oldest has only had a couple of diaper rashes, usually after being at someone else's house for a while, but I never put anything on his bum at diaper changes. My youngest hasn't had any diaper rashes to date. Maybe I just got lucky, but I think as long as you change the diaper often, there won't be the rashy problem.
Old 09-16-2006, 03:11 PM

vaseline is a petroleum product so I definately would not put it on a tender bum In 5+ years of cloth diapernig we have never put anything on to prevent rash, and we have rarely had rashes. I actually can only remember my 22 month old having one when she was a few months old.
Old 09-16-2006, 03:16 PM

Keeping baby DRY has been our best way to prevent diaper rash. Smearing stuff on preventatively is actually making baby moist, which, um, isn't dry. (laughing at my own sentence) Not to say we never used anything like Burt's Bees diaper rash ointment, we did sometimes, but only when there was something that needed soothing.
Old 09-16-2006, 03:20 PM

I agree-no preventative measures are needed if you are changing baby frequently enough. Also-what wasn't mentioned is the fact that the vaseline would in essence "ruin" your diapers-it would coat them and make it impossible for them to function properly, and would require TONS of work just to remove it from the fabrics.........