Anyone use Arm & Hammer Essentials for cloth diapering?? Other laundering questions.. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 07-08-2007, 03:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new to this scene and am just in my first week cloth diapering. We went out today and bought 7th Generation Sensitive Skin to use on our cloth diapers (which, don't get me wrong, seems to work great), and were shell-shocked at the cost. We're CD'ing, obviously for health/environmental reasons, but also to be a little more frugal...unfortunately, the $0.87 per load that it costs to buy the 7th Generation doesn't fit in. While at Meijer's, though, I noticed Arm & Hammer Essentials and noticed it fits a lot of the prereq's for cloth diaper detergent as well as a good price. More like $0.09 per load. A little more reasonable. Has anyone else used this and found success with cloth diaper loads??

My wash routine has become a cold rinse/soak, a hot wash with 1/4-1/2 normal detergent amount as well as 1/4 cup baking soda, then a cold rinse. Does this sound right?? Any tweaks from anyone that I should consider (just Gerber cotton prefolds).

Also, if I switch to A & H, can I still use the baking soda, or should I nix that stage? Should I be using vinegar anyways??

So new and sooooo many questions!!

~Jennifer Proud SAHM to Benjamin Michael 07-29-05: and awaiting William Alexander 10-16-07 , married to my best friend :

joy.gif Wife to  geek.gif,  mama to  reading.gif,   guitar.gif, fly-by-nursing1.gif, and thumbsuck.gif - bonus mommy to  loveeyes.gif!  homebirth.jpghomeschool.gifnovaxnocirc.gif

#2 of 9 Old 07-08-2007, 03:45 AM

I've never used the detergent you mention. I do use Purex F&C and it's wonderful! It's so cheap I bought it for all of my clothes (then remembered I was trying to be green so I switched back to Biokleen). I don't know what the cost per load breaks down to though... I'd have to look that up or calculate it.