hemp pfs - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 07-17-2003, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ok since it is not news to everyone here, I am new to CD but not to being a mother. And I need to know about the help prefolds... so here is a silly question; What do they FEEL like? I was given an assortment of pfs by someone online, and among them are cpfs, gerber pfs & some ?hemp? they are NOT bleached white, they are BIG and STIFF & kinda thin even. are they hemp pfs?
#2 of 11 Old 07-17-2003, 08:27 PM

Sounds like a possible Hemper. Does anyone have a 5 or 8 oz. Hemper available (washed) to show a picture of for comparison?
flminivanmama sells them, she might know.

If it is stiff it could be a line-dryed Premium Chinese Prefold. They come in bleached and unbleached. It would have 3 panels as well, but softer than a Hemper would be - and not as stiff.

Depending on the blend, it has been my experience that Hemp gets rougher with use WAY before it gets soft again.
#3 of 11 Old 07-17-2003, 10:02 PM

I have hemp fleece prefolds and hemp terry prefolds. Both are soft, but I find the hemp fleece to be softer. Many people find that hemp fleece gets very rough over time, but I have not yet had that problem. It is not as soft as the day they arrived, but theya re still very soft. Much softer than my other regular cotton prefolds. They are kind of a "fuzzy" soft, if that makes any sense at all, LOL!

New WOHM to DD8 and DD3
#4 of 11 Old 07-18-2003, 12:42 AM - Thread Starter

OK, well there are 3 of these, and let me tell you.... they feel like CANVAS! I won't use em. I think I'll try Calgon x10! LOL. I don't know what else to do!!??
#5 of 11 Old 07-18-2003, 12:49 AM

I betcha they are Hempers then.
#6 of 11 Old 07-18-2003, 12:52 AM