Blisters and open sores on precious baby bottom - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 10-13-2007, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi there, I'm new to this thread. Thought you mamas may be able to help me out.

My poor sweet boy has the most horrible rash I've ever seen It showed up the night before last out of nowhere. He has little blisters all over his groin area and genitals, and then a red splotchy rash on his bottom.: The blisters have been popping and leave an open sore I feel sick with guilt. Earlier this week I had to use a generic disposable diaper in a pinch, and I'm wondering if that is what caused it? I've used pampers on occasion, and never had a problem, but have never used this off brand. DS has been on solids for about a month, and has never had a problem with any of the food I've introduced to him. I didn't give him anything new this week that he's never had before. He has no fever, but has been pretty fussy today I've had to rock him to sleep on his side because of his poor sore bottom. He's been naked most of today and yesterday to help "air it out", and I gave him a warm oatmeal bath tonight. I put on a thick layer of desitin before bed. What else can I do? What did I do to cause this? TIA!

Enjoying life with DH since 05/04 and our two boys Oliver 02/07 and Theodore 07/10 

#2 of 18 Old 10-13-2007, 09:54 PM

Tracy had rash like this more times than I can count. I totally feel your pain (and his).

It sounds like you are headed in the right direction. You might want to try immodium or something like that to put on his bum. It is an antacid. It typically helped clear tracy up quicker than anything.

Airing out is a good idea etc.

I hope his bum feels bettter soon!

Single Mom to 2 amazing little men. T(7) and B(5)
#3 of 18 Old 10-13-2007, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter