Quick- Do I have to wash my new hemp separate? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 12-15-2007, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just got new hemp for DS and new prefolds for the new one. I've read something about washing hemp separate. (which right now I don't do) But I don't want to ruin this new stuff!!! TIA!

CPST and SAHM to DS (4/20/06) and DD (6/13/08)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 12-15-2007, 10:53 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I'm new to CD so I may not be right, but the info I've received when I've ordered new diapers says that "all unbleached and hemp items should be prewashed separately from pocket diapers, all in ones, and other items with polyester fleece. All unbleached cotton and hemp may be prewashed together." HTH!
#3 of 7 Old 12-16-2007, 11:55 AM

i dont usually wash my pockets in the washing machine, i do them in the sink or a bucket (mainly cuz i only have 8 of them and am too lazy to do 2 washes a day and go to the basement) - although i do occasionally just throw a couple of them in with the reg wash and i have a combination of mf, and hemp inserts and prefolds and have never noticed a difference or anything negative when doing this.

Mama to Amelia - age 6

#4 of 7 Old 12-17-2007, 02:37 AM - Thread Starter

I found some info thanks.

I read that for the first few washes to wash hemp separately from everything else since it has oils that will make cotton repel.

CPST and SAHM to DS (4/20/06) and DD (6/13/08)
#5 of 7 Old 12-17-2007, 02:56 AM