Buying a washer for CDing - prewash or soak? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 8 Old 01-06-2008, 12:11 AM - Thread Starter
 
stelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We are stuck between 2 models - a Frigidaire and a GE. One has prewash, but no soak. The other has soak but no prewash.

Which is more important?

I'd imagine prewash - since I could soak stuff myself in a bucket if needed....

 Mummy to two,  vbac.gif winner.jpgsigncirc1.gif
stelly is offline  
#2 of 8 Old 01-06-2008, 12:49 AM
 
locksmama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
go with prewash..
locksmama is offline  
#3 of 8 Old 01-06-2008, 01:21 AM - Thread Starter
 
stelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thank you!

I got a too-good-to-refuse price on the GE with the prewash so we took it.

 Mummy to two,  vbac.gif winner.jpgsigncirc1.gif
stelly is offline  
#4 of 8 Old 01-06-2008, 04:56 AM
 
Bay Area Babe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Laramie, WY
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stelly View Post
Thank you!

I got a too-good-to-refuse price on the GE with the prewash so we took it.
We went with this option too. You can do a soak on most models by just leaving the lid up.
Bay Area Babe is offline  
#5 of 8 Old 01-06-2008, 01:33 PM
 
jenjenl18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
:
thats what we do to soak our dipes over night. Put it on prewash with the lid open and in the morning we shut the lid
jenjenl18 is offline  
#6 of 8 Old 01-06-2008, 01:39 PM
 
elspethshimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We just got a GE washer. I am so excited!
elspethshimon is offline  
#7 of 8 Old 01-06-2008, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
 
stelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bay Area Babe View Post
We went with this option too. You can do a soak on most models by just leaving the lid up.
It's a front loader so no lid up option

 Mummy to two,  vbac.gif winner.jpgsigncirc1.gif
stelly is offline  
#8 of 8 Old 01-06-2008, 07:14 PM
 
kbstanley3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
See if you can pull the knob out. Ours pulls out to stop the load and that's how I do a soak.
kbstanley3 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Drag and Drop File Upload
Drag files here to attach!
Upload Progress: 0
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Mothering Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off