Mothering Forum banner

Diapering a 5lber **added pics**

1K views 15 replies 13 participants last post by  Gunter 
#1 ·
I'm new to CDing, and have a weird stash of one of everything that looked interesting. Baby came a month early and is tiny - nothing I have fits!! How do you diaper a really small baby?? I have some prefolds that are pretty small (not sure what size), but still huge on a little bum. I do have 2 covers that look like they'll work if I can figure out what to put in them. I have a whole bunch of KL0's but they're huge too, still. We've been using preemie disposables so far but want to switch over to cloth ASAP - as soon as I can figure out what to use. I'm really leaning towards prefolds and covers eventually. If I have to buy special preemie dipes I figure I can always resell them later.

TIA
g.

#2 ·
I used preemie prefolds and preemie proraps who was 4 15 when we left the hospital. I bought the same thing for this one just because I assume it will be tiny too!

#3 ·
I used preemie prefolds, and xs proraps, and we also we were lucky enough to get ahold of a few xs Fuzzi bunz that we loved. Im hoping this one dont come early cause I dont even have preemie diapers anymore, or very many NB ones.

Also we found a snappi didnt work when they were that small...it was just a matter of folding it and getting it in the cover.

#6 ·
My DD2 was five pounds and gained slowly. For the first two months, she wore preemie prefolds (towards the end of that time we doubled up) with newborn size proprap covers, which run small to begin with and only fit my full-term DD for a week.

#7 ·
Thanks for all the advice, everyone!
I'm wondering how long the preemie prefolds fit. Baby's probably up to 6 lbs now (and growing fast), and I'm wondering if nb prefolds would be a better bet.

p.s. I added diaper pics to my blog. Link in sig.

thx.
g.

#9 ·