(Fuzzi Bunz/EBF baby) Diapers smell like poop - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-04-2008, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been using my Fuzzi Bunz for three months now; baby is exclusively breastfed.

I don't have much option in the way of washing them, because I unfortunately have to use a public pay-machine; so I can't cold pre-wash them; so I just hot wash/cold rinse them, and I pay for the extended wash cycle (which just adds extra agitation time). I wash the diapers by themselves; and the tub fills right up, so it's about half full of diapers; and the top half is water - so there's plenty of agitation room.

My diapers absorb well (only had a couple leaks (at the back) when I haven't been able to change him quick enough); they are also not seeping through the shell; so neither of these are a problem. The problem is that the diapers smell like poop, even when baby just pee's. They're definitely retaining the smells; and it's slowly becoming overpowering - ok, it's pretty gross. I'm using unscented chemical free detergent, and I don't have the means to change detergents right now; I need another option. I know I could oxy-clean them (if I did this, it would be inserts only); but I really don't want to use a chemical on the diapers, if I don't have to.

I've tried running them through a couple washes one after the other (starting out with more detergent than usual; and then letting it wash in plain water a couple times to get it out well). I've tried washing them with chemical free dishsoap. None of it worked. Does anyone have any ideas? Baking soda? Vinegar? Both? HELP!

WARNING: The comments and opinions expressed above do not necessarily reflect those of the community in which I reside; or those of the internet parenting network.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-04-2008, 05:39 PM