new to EC, w/ my 2mo baby - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-08-2009, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all, just wanted to post b/c I am totally new to EC but I am going to give it a go. I am sure perusing this board will give me lots of info, and I know you MDC ladies are always so good for answers, advice, and enouragement.

My baby girl was born April 28, so she's about 2 1/2 mos. I read 2 books from the library over the weekend and "caught" 5 pees each day over the weekend. Fewer with our busier weekday schedules but still a few a day. And I am giving her even more diaper-free time than I was already (though I've always been a big believer in plenty of nakey time).

Its funny, she really seems like she "tries" to go when I take her to potty. Sometimes she even goes a bit, and then not 10 minutes later does a much BIGGER pee on the flat diaper she's lying on. Oh well, maybe an age thing?

I didn't know anything about EC (though had vaguely heard of it) w/ my son, now 4 1/2. But when he was about 15 mos old and really started complaining about a dirty or wet diaper, we unknowingly started a lot of the techniques I've now read about (potty at a certain time of day when we knew he would poop, plenty of diaper-free time, potty in the play area, fitted dipes w.out covers, etc). It came very "naturally" to us and he didn't poop in a diaper starting at 18 mos. He still peed in a diaper if he had one on until he was about 2.

So, it sounds right to me. Though a little overwhelming. I am not yet ready to even contemplate doing it when I'm not at or around home. I am also hoping that pee and poop become more predictable soon (the books said around 3 mos?). This girl seems to pee ALL the time (except then sometimes she'll unexpectedly be dry after 3 hours out and about), and she poops about 2x per week. Ah well.

dissertating mom to three

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-08-2009, 10:45 PM

Hi Emma,