Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
a little background:
-started EC at about 1 month old
- got almost all the poops in the potty and many pees
- at about 8 months started to refuse the potty

- really refused when started to walk at 12 months
- After starting solids at 10 months (and her poop became more solid) she completely stopped pooping on the potty.

- I stopped offering the potty when she would refuse. We took a really long break.

Now she's 15 months.
She stands to poop in her diaper.

Yesterday, for the first time ever she signed potty (which I have been doing since about 4 months old!!). Really exciting!! ANd she said 'poop' when she pooped in her diaper. So she has that awareness, which I am really pleased about.

Now, this is my question - how to transition her to sitting on the potty to poop.

She's grown used to doing it standing up.

She'll sit on the potty (baby bjorn little potty) and read books for just a couple of minutes and then stand up and say 'done.' But then signed poop and stood and pooped in her diaper!

How do I re-institute the association with the potty? Especially with a toddler?

thanks.
#2 of 4 Old 09-09-2010, 09:44 AM