Mothering Forum banner

these may be silly questions but I am very new at this!!

825 views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  milly5 
#1 ·
Hi ladies!

my DD is almost 4 months old, and we have just started EC. We have been using cloth nappies (pocket nappies)

I know some of her signs (when feeding anyway), but do tend to confuse "needing a wee" with "needing a burp", and I also struggle with the "when" in "I need a poo" as there seems to be hours of build up to that one! I have also worked out that she doesn't always show signs for a wee until after it's done.

I had decided after doing lots of reading - especially of some of the posts here - that I needed to do more naked time with her to learn her signs more, and focus less on the the "elimination" and catching, and more on the "communication". I was looking forward to starting a new nakie day!

Except......

she has begun teething (yep early I know), and has done NOTHING but scream, is not sleeping and is refusing the breast. Probably not a good time to work on EC, is it?

So my questions are -

- am I better off just leaving it while she is miserable, or just try a little? How long is she likely to be miserable for anyway (this is number one for me, so I have NO IDEA about anything LOL!)

- if I leave it or only do EC "sometimes" am I going to confuse her? I did still want to use nappies some of the time (particularly in the evening when DH comes home/dinner to cook/animals to feed/etc)

Also, how do you physically manage keeping her naked (or bum bare) and breast feeding (as in not having wee go EVERYWHERE). I tried holding a pot/bowl under her, but I can't hold and feed her as well as hold her. And if I put a nappy or towel or anything on her, then I can't see her go. I even tried just putting a terry flat nappy on her for feeting but even then I still couldn't tell when she went and got a surprise to find a wet nappy.