Just started with EC with a 3.5 month old, advice..... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-26-2011, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

So, I just started with my 3.5 month old.  I think today, I caught maybe 40% of his elimination?  It seemed to go well.  I have found that at the first whimper of waking up, he needs to go to the bathroom or I will miss it.  And, within 10 minutes of eating, he has to go.  So, that seems to be a majority of it.  There are a few other times but I have not been able to figure out his cues for that (I have a 3.5 year old running around so sometimes I can't be super attentive).

I am not very good at waking up at night, so we are only doing daytime.  He only poops every 3-5 days and they are HUGE.  I caught the last one and I was super excited.

He does not seem to like the BBLP but I am hoping the cover I ordered for it will come quickly.  I haven't figured out how to use the toilet with him so we are going in the sink right now.

So, I am cueing when he goes.  And we are doing a lot of prefold without cover time as well.

Any other thoughts?  I would like to be a little more settled in with this so that I can "sneak" off and potty him while my ILs are here.  They are a pedi and old L&D nurse and I have already heard that babies can't hold it until they are 2.  But after going through PL with my 3.5 year old (who WILL NOT poop in the potty, argh), I really don't want to teach DS2 to use a diaper and then have him relearn that.  It has been a PITA with DS1 and it does not feel good (we have to all but bribe him to go sometimes and even then, it is sometimes a struggle). 

winner.jpg, cloth diapering, babywearing, AP mama to Aiden (10/04/07) and Rylan (12/20/10)  hbac.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-27-2011, 09:41 AM