Advice for having other family member do EC with my baby? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 08-02-2011, 08:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've been working on EC with my baby since she was 9 months old after reading two books about being Diaper Free.  Reciently we decided to just stop putting any diapers on her and it working really well!  She's gone almost 3 days with no accidents.  I want to keep this up with her, however my husband and I are going to go to college in the fall and we're going to have his parents watch her while we're at class.  Can anyone give me advice on how they can keep doing EC with her?

They're open to the idea, but also a little freaked out maybe by a 1 year old not wearing a diaper!  (But I really don't want her to wear a diaper while she's with them.)

Thanks for any suggestions!

#2 of 5 Old 08-03-2011, 07:17 AM

What if you were to get or make her some training pants?  They'd have a bit of protection in the event of a miss (which is more likely to happen with them than with you as they're new to EC) but DD wouldn't be in diapers which can create a lack of attention (for me at least).  I've made trainers for DS and they're super easy to sew or you can buy them various places online.  I used the pattern from http://www.ladderhilldesign.com and purchased materials from http://www.kidsinthegarden.com.

I think that it is also important for you to make them understand that if they have a miss it is not a failure and to keep it low pressure and of course to go over the basics with them and your own "technique" with DD.  Show them the hold you use, give them the opportunity to practise when you are around, etc.

I think it's great that they are willing to participate!

N, wife to my goofball K partners.gif and mamma to my EC grad D (July 2010) and my new little love S (May 2013).  Exploring the uncharted territory of tandem nursing with my two boys.