Foamy poop! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 06-08-2003, 04:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It's like it's full of air bubbles & I'm just wondering if this is normal. I don't think it was foamy the first few days we did this, but now it seems like it almost always is. Sometimes it's so frothy it makes a little pile in the bottom of the potty . Could it have something to do with him trying to force it out? He seems to really try hard sometimes & only get a bit of gas or a tiny little poo.

Helen wash.gif Homeschooling Mama to Nicola photosmile2.gif 07/00 , Daniel kewl.gif 05/03 & cat.gifX2...and hug.gif with Barry caffix.gif since 08/87
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 14 Old 06-08-2003, 11:49 PM

I'm no expert, but my son's poo gets foamy either when he is sick (usually greener), gassy, or at the end of a pooing session. I usually don't worry about it unless it is consistent. Does he show any other signs of sickness?
#3 of 14 Old 06-10-2003, 12:26 AM

Green Foamy Poo

Is often a sign of foremilk/hindmilk imbalance.

This imbalance is actually an often un-recognized underlying cause of colic in infants. My babies had foamy poos.
The reasons in my case:
1. Overactive letdown/oversupply a.k.a. firehose boobs LOL!
2. A misconception that it was necessary to feed my baby on both boobs at each feeding.

In reality, it is MUCH more important to empty one breast before switching!!! When I started nursing on one breast, burping because of the air taken in by trying to drink from a firehose, then finishing that side and only then switching if baby was still hungry, the problem got much better!

Less gassiness, no more green poo, much faster decrease of overfull boobs!

Kathryn
#4 of 14 Old 06-10-2003, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter