Online/Distance midwifery training...... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-07-2004, 11:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I need suggestions for online or distance midwifery training courses.

I like the look of the AAMI intro midwifery course and then going on to take the 'real deal', but I didn't know if that was the BEST out there. Any more suggestions???

I don't want to become a CNM. My goal in the long run is CPM (even if they aren't recognized here in NC). I just want something right now other than just reading every book I can get my hands on to keep me learning while I'm still having my babies.

Ok, sorry for the long-winded request.....anyone?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-08-2004, 12:01 PM

I'm studying through MCU--love their distance program. Website is: www.midwifery.edu

I'm excited to hear what other people are doing.
Old 09-08-2004, 12:50 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
You know, there's something to be said for NOT attending a formal midwifery school, too.

I think AAMI and an apprenticeship is a PERFECT midwifery education. I don't know why there is a belief that you have to go to a "school" to be a good midwife or get a good, solid education.

In some states where midwifery is highly regulated, the schools may have more of a slant towards conservative midwifery or even leans towards more allopathic measures. This is not the case with all schools, but it is becoming more and more common.

Up until about ten years ago, all midwives learned either through self-study, study groups or from courses like AAMI. I rec'd my education through a formal school and I felt like it was good for me because I had no one in my area to study with and my preceptor didn't want to do my education beyond the apprenticeship. I also felt like school was the one thing that expedited my healing process over my daughter's birth.