need advice: work and late pregnancy - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 08-11-2002, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Please help! I need a little help in figuring out whether I'm being unreasonable or not. I'm 34 weeks pregnant, and I work as a phone technician in a wire center where I am responsible for answering 5 phone lines and attending to every technician who calls in from the field (I was moved into this position when I could no longer climb poles or do other physical things outside). This inside job is sometimes very hectic, not only because the phone often rings off the hook, but also because I can be on my feet for 20-45 minutes at a time, have to climb a footstool to reach equipment up high, and have to work with equipment 1/2 an inch off the floor. The stuff near the floor is the most difficult, because my big belly feels very crowded and compressed after squatting that low for 5-15 minutes at a time. On busy days, I end up feeling a lot of pain from doing work near the floor. The baby has been breech for the last few weeks, so that has not helped.
The company I work for has a "disability" policy that pays women their regular wages if they need to take time off for pregnancy/health reasons in the months leading up to their deliveries. Every woman I've talked to in the company has utilized this policy to go out on leave several months in advance. I assumed, from their experience, that I would have no trouble doing the same if need be. So last week, when I found myself weeping in the bathroom because the pain and stress of the job were finally catching up with me, I called my CNM to request that she write a note stating that I shouldn't be at work anymore. She refused, stating that my file indicates that I have had no trouble with my pregancy, and thus no "justifiable" reason to be out on disability.