Aspiring midwives or doulas - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 230 Old 11-29-2005, 04:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I couldn't find a thread, so isn't it time for a new one?

I am an aspiring midwife and I'm looking for someone to take me under their wing as an apprentice. The only human birth I've ever attended is my daughter's, but I've midwived an awful lot of farm animals. I would really love to assist/attend a few homebirths in this area and start learning the ropes.

I live in Mississippi and I've been asking around, but so far I haven't found anyone who is taking an apprentice. There aren't many midwives around here, but midwifery is legal. YAY! Even if you live in Memphis or within an hour or two of me I'd be willing to give it a go.

My education consists of some formal college and lots of the School of Life, but I start this spring in pre-nursing with the hopes of being in nursing school by the fall.

At this point I'm information gathering and reading, reading, reading. I can't afford nursing school AND formal midwife school, so I'm looking for alternate routes.

Anyone else an aspiring midwife or doula?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 230 Old 11-30-2005, 02:07 PM

Hey Jennifer! I am in Alabama and I am also an aspiring midwife. I'm in nursing school right now (LPN). I plan to work as a nurse for a few years (2-3) to save up money to be able to move to go to midwifery school or apprentice. In bama it is illegal to have a midwife assisted birth except for CNM's in the hospital, but I want to be a homebirth midwife (CPM), so I'm gonna have to move anyway. Just wanted to say hey. I hope you have good luck in finding someone to apprentice under.
#3 of 230 Old 11-30-2005, 02:37 PM