Income as a doula? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 01-30-2006, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter
ETW

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am currently a paid graduate student which means that I work part-time, very flexible hours. We have no external childcare -- DH also has flexible hours and cares for DS when I am working on my research. I will be graduating in the next year and need to replace some of my income but can not continue in my current field without taking a full time position -- something I am not willing to do. So I'm looking for a new career and I find that I am very drawn to work involving childbirth and children even though I have no experience other than my own childbirth and parenting experiences. I'll have to do a lot of research and thinking to decide if becoming a doula would be a good path for me and my family. But before I do that I need to know if it's even feasible economically.

So my question: is it feasible to make $10-20K per year as a doula? How many hours per week (on average) would you work to earn that sort of income? I know it varies by region, but any thoughts you could give would be appreciated. Thank you.

ETA: sorry if this is an indelicate question -- I feel odd barging in here and asking how much you make!
#2 of 9 Old 01-30-2006, 09:02 PM

Now I would love to know the answer to that question!!!

I think you will find, as many of us on here find, that work is fairly unpredictable and a guaranteed income is not always possible. I am finding as a relatively new doula, that work comes in fits and starts and I, as many other doulas, are in it more for the passion than the pay

TB frank, I find that I am often only earning around $3 per hour once I have taken my childcare out!!

I have also found it is a slow process to get known and a reputation.