How much demand is there for postpartum doulas? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 12-28-2006, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is something I'm thinking about going into. I don't have childcare or family available at anytime to become a birth doula.

Who uses a postpartum doula? Do they also use a birth doula? Who could afford both? Some things for me to ponder before I start the certification process.

I would like to start certification when my youngest starts preschool. I'm hoping to work mother's hours (while they are at school) and take summers off.

I used to work as a breastfeeding counselor for WIC. I'm also thinking of doing that again when my youngest starts preschool until the ball starts rolling w/ the doula plans.
#2 of 18 Old 12-28-2006, 11:23 PM

I am interested in becoming a postpartum doula also. It is something that I will have to wait until my kids are older. I personally have only heard of one lady using a pp doula. I think that it is an important job, but most moms don't know about it. Also, many have family help and would not want to pay someone.

I think it would come in handy with multiple births, those who do not have any family or friends close by, or those that make alot of money and like to pay someone else to do everything for them. :

Have you looked into any doula programs? I like the one offered by birtharts.com.
#3 of 18 Old 12-28-2006, 11:32 PM