What do you do while you're waiting for active labor to start? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 01-15-2007, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first time in this situation: I got this vibe, "Go to bed early tonight" so I went to bed last night around 8pm. Client called at 11pm with PROM but no ctx. Her mw had told her to go back to bed, so that's what she was doing. Meanwhile *I* couldn't sleep, but eventually I did. So, I talked to client this morning, still no ctx (I'm thinking posterior and so is the mw), so I'm just hanging out. Waiting. Any suggestions? I feel like knitting a pair of socks like Ina May would do!

treehugger.gif Erika
mom of twins.gif (8)  blahblah.gif(5) thumbsuck.gif (3) and baby.gif born at home on Christmas day! 
#2 of 5 Old 01-15-2007, 03:46 PM

I do knit, actually!

I generally do try to get some sleep, no matter the time of day. I make sure I get a good meal, that my kids are fed and have bags packed for the sitter, and there is something to feed them while I'm gone in case dh tries the "pizza for every meal" trick.

And then, I knit.

Megan- mama to 3, midwifery student , doula, , runner , knitter .
Violet Lane Birth Services Doula care and placenta encapsulation serving Seattle to Mount Vernon
#3 of 5 Old 01-15-2007, 04:44 PM

I wish I could knit!

Yes, do the knitting!

Additionally, go about your daily routine. She may not go into labor until tonight or even tomorrow.

P.S. good work listening to your intuition about going to bed early!
#4 of 5 Old 01-15-2007, 04:46 PM

Yep...sleep and

Marilyn, married to my soulmate Jay and mommy to Elijah Blaze 08/04/2003 and Mila Soleil 10/02/2011 . 
#5 of 5 Old 01-15-2007, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter