Dreaming... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 06-12-2003, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm babbling a lot here. Please forgive me.

Ok... so I'm a programmer for a relatively small company. They bend over backwards for me and I love my coworkers. But... now that DS is here, I'm just not interested in the work. At all. So, I keep thinking of other ways to bring in money.

I loved my Bradley teacher. She helped me in so many ways. That would be a great thing to do.

I loved my doula! She was a lifesaver. But the hours aren't good for DS (8mo)... so I was thinking about a post partum doula. Outta curiosity, do other post partum doulas bring their own little ones to work with them? Is that bad?

And I'm pretty good at making cards. I stamp all my Christmas cards and my birth announcements and thank you cards... I was thinking I could sell them.

Then I just got a sewing machine. Not too great with it, but maybe I could make slings. I wear mine whenever I go out and people always ask me about it. I swear I should get a commision from Kissaluvs and MayaWrap. =) So maybe I should just sell my own...

How unrealistic is this? Anyone do some of these with babies of their own? This July is Bradley training and also DONA's conference in San Francisco (I live on the central coast of CA). Lots of money... scary jump. Very scary jump. Is it worth it?

~Melissa
#2 of 4 Old 06-12-2003, 09:52 AM

I have a degree in interior design and worked in wallpaper.

Then, kids... and now I'm a doula and breastfeeding counselor, and maybe someday a childbirth educator. I just didn't find wallpaper fufilling in the least after kids. If you feel a calling, follow your gut feeling!

Sahm mom to three lovely girls, and happily married to a great, sweet guy
#3 of 4 Old 06-13-2003, 10:39 PM

Follow your heart