Pushing/delivery positions and epidurals - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 04-29-2007, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter
CEG

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone,

I am a nursing student doing a presentation to L& D nurses about upright positioning for pushing and birth. Since most of the moms (97%) at this hospital have epidurals I am looking for some creative (yet acceptable to the unit admin) suggestions for positioning moms with epidurals upright. I would love some success stories too.
Thanks!
#2 of 6 Old 04-29-2007, 10:43 PM

check out http://www.pennysimkin.com/articles
supporting moms with epidurals---has some good stuff
#3 of 6 Old 04-29-2007, 11:08 PM

Wow, I just had to comment on the 97% epidural rate! OMG! :

Good luck!

Mama to ds#1 (7) and a ds#2 (1 1/2)
Homebirth midwife
#4 of 6 Old 04-29-2007, 11:35 PM

I have good luck with using a squat bar with mamas with epidurals. We set up the squat bar, then put the foot of the bed down and the head all the way up in a chair like position. The mama then needs to sit right at the edge of the upper part of the bed with her feet resting comfortably on the lowered foot of the bed. During a contraction, we help the mama come forward, holding the squat bar, and help her sink down into a true squat. In between contractions she can boost back up a bit onto the edge of the upper part of the bed again.

Also, I find a lot of mamas are able to do hands and knees if they aren't completely numb. We raise the head of the bed again so she can rest her arms over the back.

If a woman is very numb and can't sustain any position using her legs, you can still put the bed into a chair position to allow the baby to labor down until she feels an urge to push. (High Fowler's position they call it around here.) Even very numb women can use side lying, and this at least gets the sacrum out of the way.