pregnancy and rheumatoid arthritis - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 02-23-2008, 11:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Are there any special precautions the provider would need to take with a pregnant mom with rheumatoid arthritis? Do any of you professionals have any experience with this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 13 Old 02-24-2008, 12:17 AM

I'm not a provider, but I have had this conversation w/ my dr. I too have RA, and there is nothing he has made me aware of that we'll do any differently, and I've asked! I am a little concerened w/ back labor since my lower back is one of my worst spots. We've discussed making sure there is a birth ball available, since it is supposed to help w/ back labor. I'm actually having one at home to help me in the early stages. One of the bonuses is that RA goes somewhat into remission for most women when pg... I really hope that's the case for you! Because I've really enjoyed having nothing more than the occasional twinge these past several months.

Hope you get a definate answer from a pro.

Wife (32) to DH (33) Mom to DS 2 and Twin DD's born 8/11
#3 of 13 Old 02-24-2008, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks new mommy for the input.

Actually, it is my DD that is the expectant momma. This is her second and she is considering having a home birth. With her last she had an ob and she took aspirin as a therpeutic measure. I'm trying to see if that is common or what.

She felt great during her last pg and I hope it goes well for her this time.

Congratulations on your upcoming little one!
#4 of 13 Old 02-24-2008, 01:13 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)