some encouragement needed - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 03-06-2008, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i have wanted to me a homebirth midwife since i was seven years old. when i was younger, i assumed you must be a mother to be a midwife, so i naively didn't pursue looking into doing this when i was with out family responsibilities . when i got older, and was already immersed in finishing college, i met a midwife who told me that OF COURSE i didn't have to wait to become one...but i didn't pursue it then because i had to finish college (mostly to keep my folks off my back...i have a degree now, but what good has that done me? nothing towards the goal i have of being a midwife). then i got pregnant, and now i have a 1 year old...so i have been busy with that...
i FINALLY found someone who teaches midwifery classes locally, and i really want to start doing this...she is the woman who all the local midwives studied with before becoming apprentices...but her courses cost 1000$ a pop. and since she is not affiliated with any school, there is no financial aid program.my parents are "supportive", but i think they feel like i am just fantasizing. my dad says things like: "there is no money in that sort of work....blah blah blah". my partner and i are flat broke, and i am staying at home with my kiddo, so i am unable to make my own money, and there is no one to borrow it from.
i just feel so frusterated, like this dream i have had my whole life is never going to happen.
i need some encouragment. did anybody else face this kind of difficulty in pursuing their goal?
#2 of 4 Old 03-06-2008, 05:02 PM

Are there no MEAC schools that are distance learning?
#3 of 4 Old 03-07-2008, 04:56 AM