Asher Dean: A Doula's Beautiful Cesarean Birth (xposted in vbac and birth professionals) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 03-10-2008, 01:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Here is my birth story:

Asher Dean

I'm trying to accept the fact that I am a birth professional that has never delivered vaginally. I've logged a helluva lot of hours laboring, but I'm not sure if potential clients will see past the fact that I've never pushed. I suppose if that's the case, then perhaps we are not meant to work together. I've met some amazing midwives that don't have any children though, and so I suppose there's hope.

Please be honest, do you feel that it will affect my ability to get clients? I know I don't have to tell them, but I don't want to feel like I'm holding back either. I will be honest if anyone asks.

Thank you.

Dani
#2 of 10 Old 03-10-2008, 02:20 AM

I think there's a doula out there for everyone. In my honest opinion, I think that it will send some to another doula, just as being a childless midwife sends some women to other midwives. I think it's very possible to have a full doula schedule as a member of the "all children by cesearian tribe". I do think it's important to try to fully process things - knowing that new stuff comes up at births and surprises you. My mantra is that I am doing my very best each day, and I strive for that. I am a better birth person in 2008 than I was in 2006, but I don't feel ashamed of my performance in 2006.