Am I doing the wrong thing here? - Mothering Forums

#1 of 10 Old 03-25-2008, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone! I'm new here and loving it so far.

I'm working towards my pp doula certification through DONA, and really love it so far. Originally I wanted to be a birth doula, but I'm also a teacher and knew that the on-call thing wouldn't work well for me in that situation.

ANYWAY

I see that most doulas have had children. Is it bad that I haven't? I want to eventually, but I'm wondering if it's going to make women/families less likely to hire me if I haven't actually breastfed, diapered, and taken care of my own baby. I've changed a few diapers and have bottle fed here and there, and as I read the literature really wish I had a baby (real or fake) to practice breastfeeding positions, cosleeping, attachment parenting with.

I'm thinking it's going to be a good idea to work with an experienced pp doula for a while, so I can get more experience with infants. That should help, right?

I guess I'm just looking for some reassurance/encouragement, but honest opinions are also welcome. I am truly invested in helping women and families in any way I can. I see this as a real life extension of my volunteer work with www.vaginapagina.com, and really do want to do this. Is this going to be a uphill battle? Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 10 Old 03-25-2008, 02:34 PM