How did you know, and then how did you do it? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 04-13-2008, 04:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all,

I have been a teacher for 8 years, and while I love my students and teaching in general, I am feeling called to another field. I had a c/s 2.5 years ago and a VBAC w/doula last year. We are planning on TTC later this year or next and I really want a homebirth. In case it is not yet clear, birth has become quite a passion for me! I noticed someone mentioned she is an "accidental birth activist," and this is how I feel too!

Anyway, I am having some struggles in making a career switch. I am thinking possibly becoming a CBE and/or doula, and then, maybe when my kids are older, a midwife. My questions for those of you who already are labor supporters in one way or another (my heroes),
1) how did you make the leap into self-employment? book suggestions?
2) how did you figure out which method to focus on? we were trained in the bradley method by a wonderful teacher, but I have heard some things that make me nervous about signing onto them.

ANY other advice you have about it would be so very welcome. Oh, and for a timeline, I am hoping to teach for one more school year (08-09) while doing some preparation for career change, and then "jumping ship" at that point.

TIA,
Micaela in Altadena, CA
#2 of 4 Old 04-13-2008, 01:20 PM

Micaela,

Sounds like you have a good plan. If you want to be a Doula a good place to start would be to look at the different certifying groups out there. I am a Doula/CBE and Student Midwife, after having 2 college degrees and numerous years working in another field.

I went with CBI (Childbirth International) I personaly liked their approach, it worked with my schedule and fit my needs. I also felt it was overall a comprehensive program. They have a combo Doula/CBE program and I think are soon adding lactation consultants...