Birth stories - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 03-24-2002, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all -
I'm new to this site and I'm loving it so far. However I am really bummed after reading so many stories from people whose experience with their midwives were less than ideal (there are good comments too of course but I was just surprised at the amouint of negative). I am a midwifery student, studying and reading like mad between births and taking breaks only to work and scan this site!
So here is my request: Tell me about your positive births! Where were you? Who else was there? What was the most helpful thing anyone did for you during labor? How has laboring and birthing, drawing on your own strength alone, affected your life after the birth?
In no way do I mean to invalidate the experiences I've read about so far! I'm just a junkie and I can listen to/read about peoples birth experiences til the end of time and since we have a first time mom due any day now I'd appreciate some good stories...
Thanks!
Azaria
#2 of 5 Old 03-25-2002, 03:51 PM

Have you read Spiritual Midwifery by Ina May Gaskin? It's loaded with the most positive birth stories I've ever read! I read it over and over while pregnant and it also helped my realize that midwifery was my life's work!
#3 of 5 Old 03-29-2002, 12:12 PM