Hi all, ttc as a single mom.... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-19-2002, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all, I kind of feel that this is real premature, but I am eager to join you all. I am a 34 yo single woman who is about to start a family on her own, using donor insemination. I am a family therapist who encourages attachment parenting and all things natural in her practice. I have been lurking on Mothering for some time (I always read the magazine), and I thought maybe the Single board would be the best place to introduce myself. I admire all you folks going it alone. Some of you may think I am nuts to deliberately start out on this path. But, my 10 year marriage ended last year because DH did not want children. I have always wanted to be a mom, and I hope to have a couple of kids. I don't want to wait forever, and I certainly don't want to wait for my "prince" to come. So, I am about to start the journey on my own. Any other "single moms by choice" out there? If I play my cards right in the next few months, I will be able to work 3 hours a day out of my office at home. I can have a babysitter come in for those hours to help. We will live simply, but I will be able to practice attachment parenting, and be with my baby most of the time. I am already committed to this...but I am wondering, do you guys think that is doable? Some of my married friends are shocked that I am considering parenting alone, as if it is an impossible task. I don't know, I think a lot of women do a great job alone.....am I being unrealistic?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-19-2002, 11:21 PM

NO I think its definitely doable! All you need is love and a bit of money for the bills!

I say go for it! You sound like you will be an excellent mom and what more can a kid ask for. Maybe someday down the road you will find the right one who will love you & your child.

So you get a BIG
Old 04-19-2002, 11:38 PM