Moving out soon!!! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 01-04-2010, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DH and I split in June 2009.

I just submitted my application for a home I want to rent. It's been such a rough road to this point. I can't believe it's been 6 months.

I am feeling so relieved that I finally get to move out of that place and live in peace and heal and make a new life for DS and I. BUT I am so freakin scared. It's so hard leaving a familiar situation where the bills are paid. I am a student midwife and won't be making good income for a few years. The fear of finances is almost crippling. What if I can't buy gas or food?????

I guess I am just posting to celebrate this big step in my life AND fret over my fear of moving out

#2 of 5 Old 01-04-2010, 09:09 PM

Congratulations!

Regarding finances, there are lots of resources out there to help. Have you applied for foodstamps? You can also apply for assistance paying your utility bill. If you are working or in school, you may also qualify for assistance for childcare expenses. In some states you can choose any qualified childcare provider and have large variety of providers to choose from. I know in many places that the Sec8 housing list is closed and has a years long wait list, but I recently heard of a momma around here say that it was only a 12ish month wait list in her area. So check that out as well.

The financial aspect can be very scary, but there a lot of resources out there to help, you just have to find them. And as for having your own place from which you and your DS can heal and create a new life together, well, that is such a wonderful place to get to. Best wishes as you take this huge step towards the life you both deserve.
#3 of 5 Old 01-06-2010, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks!