My dh has moved out - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 04-18-2011, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello,

This is my first time on this forum.  My husband of ten years and partner of 16 years has moved out leaving me, a homeschooling, stay at home mom of 9 years.  I have two boys ages 8 and 6.  He told them he was moving out because he didn't love me anymore.  They are so sad.  I am so sad.  I don't know what I'm going to do.  Money won't be an issue right away, but I don't have a job and my kids will have to go to school.  They've never been to school.  And I feel so terrible.  He blames me, says I was never happy and he just couldn't take it anymore.  He is bipolar, and we lost a baby last year so things have been difficult for sure.  But he refused counseling.  He bought me a car, gave me some cash and moved into downtown seattle in to a hip little neighborhood about 20 minutes away.  I am in shock.  I am destroyed.

, mama to DS(7/)22/02) DS (8/14/04) , and an angel (3/10/10)nursing a broken heart...loving my boys.
#2 of 6 Old 04-18-2011, 08:31 AM

I can't even imagine how shocking and painful this must be for you and your children. Do you have someone you can turn to for support? Also, counseling might be a good idea for you right now as you navigate through this.

If you get an attorney you should be able to file for temporary child support, custody and possible alimony. I'd do that before the money runs out. In my state what your husband did would be grounds for at fault abandonment. I'm sure that right now you feel like you can hardly breathe, but definitely get working on legal matters before you find yourself with a pile of bills that can't be paid and hungry mouths to feed.

Please be gentle with yourself, Mama. hug2.gif

heartbeat.gif Mama to 5 busy bees (12, 9, 6, 3, 2) & 3 angel1.gif
#3 of 6 Old 04-18-2011, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter