Should I a be weary of signing CS agreement? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-30-2011, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Ex and I have worked out child support and custody between ourselves for years now. Recently, ex has said he has gone to a lawyer and wants to get a child support agreement written up by this lawyer and signed by the both of us. He is offering me a couple hundred more than he is currently giving me. I am feeling a bit suspicious about his motivations (why now? and why offer me more $?). I am wondering if there is anything that any of you ladies can give me a heads up about?  Are there things that I need to look out for? I have no experience with doing things legally, and I just don't want sign something that will hurt me down the line. He does have a girlfriend, and the 1st thing that popped into my head is maybe they are planning to get married. I don't know if that would change anything for me (I live in PA). Another thing is he seems to want to get it done soon. I asked for a month to think it over, and he said that a month is too long (why the rush to give me more $?). I would love to hear what some of you experienced with the legal system have to say.

FYI: We were never married.

Mother to two great kids. &
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-30-2011, 03:34 PM

I would run your numbers or as best as you can guess what his are through this. I would hesitate to sign something that another lawyer didn't review. Is it possible he is planning to move or that you are? Is what he is asking you to sign something he is going to file in family court?

mom of  dust.gif, ROTFLMAO.gif, and jog.gif
Old 05-30-2011, 03:37 PM

I wouldn't be too weary, but you should ask for a copy, and then seek your own representation to go over it, and see how fair the terms are on your end.