taking on a roommate? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 01-20-2012, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Mamas - I've been a single parent since DD was 1 (she's 4.5 now) and this past September moved in with the man I had been dating for a year or so. I'm a full time student with a job on campus, but am mainly living on student loans so that I can finish my degree. I will be starting grad school in the Fall, hopefully with a TAship. My partner and I have decided to split up, realizing that our long-term goals and what we want for our lives aren't meshing. Part of me is going through the self-criticism phase of asking why I moved here to begin with, why I thought this was a good idea, what is wrong with me that I didn't know beforehand that this would be a disaster, how could I do this to my daughter, and so on. The other part of me is strong, and I'm confident in my decision to end the relationship. 

Here's where I'm unsure: we live in a two bedroom apartment near campus. The plan was for my daughter and I to move in with my mother, who is 40 minutes away from school/work. This means I'm not only paying rent to my mother, but also a ridiculous amount of money in gas that is almost comparable to just staying here:

$400/mo in rent to mom

$300/mo in gas (filling up every 4 days or so with a 40 minute commute each way, every day)

stay here: $750/mo rent, and maybe $100/mo in gas. Obviously neither of these calculations factor in wear and tear on the car, not to mention a 40 minute drive after a 9 hour day and then getting home and having to do homework, bath, dinner, and so on. I'm also nervous that with the drive, I'm going to be subject to the freeway which, if there is construction or an accident, I won't be able to make it to school or work because there's not a decent alternative route.