Separating From Husband - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 06-23-2013, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I want to separate from my husband, but I don't know how I will financially support myself. I have been a full-time stay-at-home mother since my first was a baby, and before then, I was a college student (didn't graduate) working minimum wage fast food jobs. I am currently pregnant with my third. Our living situation is safe, just not happy, so while I'd love to end the relationship now, I feel like I could spend a few months giving myself the best chance of living separately but not in poverty. What should I do?

Partner to Rbikenew.gif ('03); Parent to T read.gif('07), Aviolin.gif ('10), and E ecbaby2.gif ('13)

femalesling.GIFhomeschool.gifchicken3.gifhomebirth.jpgnak.gif 

#2 of 8 Old 06-23-2013, 12:05 PM

Are you absolutely sure that this relationship is not worth saving?

#3 of 8 Old 06-24-2013, 06:04 AM

Quoted: 18 Post(s)

Since you are ready to leave anyway, it's worth trying to become more financially and emotionally independent without leaving. Does that make sense? But I'm saying, don't give it a deadline--just do it as though you planned to stay married. You don't need the excuse of leaving to get what you want.

I'm basing this on my own experience of always compromising. When my husband left me anyway, I was unhappy that I hadn't insisted much earlier on what I wanted. 

If one thing that would make you happy would be to go back to college to finish, tell your husband that you are going to do that, and then make plans to do it. Since you are ready to leave him anyway, it won't much matter if he doesn't like the idea. 

Or look for a job and set up the necessary day care/nannying. 

My thought is that if you are so unhappy you are planning to leave, you should do the things that will make you feel like more of a person and will make you more independent.