Academic single moms, please help me not panic. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 11-28-2013, 05:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

No matter how often I chant, "I am not an academic", I seem to have been sucked into full-on PhD-level craziness and I can't do it anymore. I also can't afford not to do it anymore. I'm a writer in a university department, hired for grants work but am now the "oh my god she can fix all the writing and do all the media and work auxiliary magic too" lady. The thing is, my job was created in the usual academic way -- someone farted out an idea in a panic, no research as to whether or not it might actually help -- so I do in fact have to fix yada and work auxiliary magic until someone, somewhere, disgorges a five-or-six-digit check and makes it out to the university, and I can claim some responsibility for having made it happen.

I am paid beans, though, and can't keep on like this. There are no better local job prospects and moving isn't in the cards. Freelance works for shoring-up but not as a main income (I'm too far away from the action, deep midwest). Seriously, I will wind up in the hospital. Academic single moms? Halp?

#2 of 14 Old 11-30-2013, 05:06 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)

WHat is your degree in pre-PH.D program? Like what is your field in general? Sounds like you are quite invaluable to your dept. Is there any way you could get a pay increase to help you work your magic?

#3 of 14 Old 12-01-2013, 08:15 AM

What about applying for some other higher paying jobs in the university or another university?

christianyvonne likes this.
#4 of 14 Old 12-03-2013, 11:19 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)