selfish? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 04-24-2014, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi all,

This is my first time posting. I was desperately looking for a place where others in my situation would lend me their ears.

I have been married for almost 12 years, to a man I was married to (arranged marriage). We have had a lot of troubles, cultural clashes. There has been physical abuse in the past, and there still is mental and emotional abuse.

We have 3 boys, 11, 9, 7.

I have finally worked up the courage to put my foot down, and decide to leave. Since I don't have my own family here in the US, I had to call cousins and aunts, because I will need a place to stay.

While everyone is being understanding etc they are all pressuring me to stay, because of the kids. "Its hard on them, they will never grow up properly, they love their dad and will feel this loss acutely, can't you sacrifice your own personal happiness for the sake of the happiness of your kids, etc etc. How will you find a good job after being out of the workforce for more than a decade, when you will have to work fulltime the kdis will have to stay in daycare, etc etc etc".

They are all from an eastern culture, where divorce carries a huge stigma.

I am being made to feel very selfish for wanting to leave this man, for whom I have no feelings, and never did.

I am hoping someone can give me suggestions, or ideas, or maybe a different perspective...

#2 of 7 Old 04-24-2014, 07:44 AM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Not selfish at all.

You'd be teaching your boys to stand up for yourself. And not allowing them to continue to learn from their dad's behavior that it is okay to treat your wife this bad. IF you don't stand up for yourself, NOBODY will. You've heard the opinions of your cousins and relatives - now move on to real help (legal help / counseling / etc)