single by choice? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 08-17-2002, 12:13 AM - Thread Starter

Location: cape cod, seeking to relocate to the SF bay area as a live-in nanny!
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i was just wondering if anyone is single by choice, or chose to have a child on their own?

i'm 23 and don't have any kids yet. even though my biological clock seems to be ticking like crazy, i dream about my future baby at night, and i so want a baby NOW, it's not practical yet...considering i will be re-locating soon, don't have a steady job yet, nor stable housing, etc., etc. it is going to be quite some time before i am prepared (in those ways) to have a baby, and so i'm going to wait.

but i feel like i am *emotionally* prepared to have a baby *now*, which is making things rather frustrating. i've been working with children for 11 years now and have never really had a job NOT working with children, because there was never a doubt in my mind that being with children is my calling. i feel so blessed to have been raised with AP and to be so close to my parents...they have been such positive role models for me, and i hope i can be even half as good at mothering as my mother is! also, with 11 years of babysitting, i have been fortunate enough to learn from many mothers...

the thing is, when i lie in bed at night envisioning my future, i rarely picture being in a romantic relationship...yet i always picture being a mother. at this point in my life, i'm just not very interested in having a romantic relationship -- i'm odd, i know! but my life is quite fulfilling as it is, and i don't feel a "void" due to my lack of a romantic partner. i love my family and friends, am part of a healthy and active spiritual community, love my job, feel fulfilled by the volunteer work i do, etc. maybe someday (ok, *probably* someday) i'll want a romantic relationship, but i'm really in no hurry.