single mommy sleep advice. desperate. long! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 08-04-2008, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I really need some advice. I know this may be more appropriate to the Nighttime Parenting forum, but there are a bunch of single mommy issues and emotions tied in, that I prefer to post here, if it's ok.

DS is almost 26 months. He does not sleep more than 2-3 hours at a stretch AT MOST for me. I have been doing this for 26 months. I am exhausted, depleted, beyond tired. I have slept for more than 4 hours straight probably 3 times in the last 2 years. I can't concentrate on anything. I can't even read. I forget important things. I pay bills late. I am tired. Lately it is affecting my patience level and motivation to get out and do fun things with DS. As well as my ability to set consistent and appopriate boundaries and limits. It is affecting my business and ability to make ends meet. This is the most depleted and exhausted I've ever felt.

DS has mainly co-slept. He has a "big boy bed" now (mattress on the floor), which he loves and is excited about. He asks to go in it. Occasionally will ask for mommy's bed instead or ask to move in the middle of the night (both of which I allow if he asks), but I have the strong sense that he is working toward the independence of sleeping in his own bed... that he wants that. Alternately, he may be asking for it because of things his father and his father's wife have told him about co-sleeping. They don't do it. Their baby is 7 months and sleeps all night in a crib and is bottle fed. The 1st time he asked for his own bed, he told me he wanted to "tell A__" (ex's wife).