How would you react? (polyamorous family) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 03-23-2009, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Okay I'm still kinda new to this so I'm sorry if this isn't where I'm meant to post this but here goes...

My DH and I are in an polyamorous relationship where DH has another female partner G. We were in complete agreement that both of us could have other long-term partners as well as more short-term flings.
It was something that I'd never come across before but I was open to it as an alternative lifestyle as long as our first priority was the family unit - by which I mean making sure that the children were comfortable and adjusting well to a situation somewhat out of the norm here.
I was also encouraged because whilst DH didn't initially want a large family he said that my willingness to be open-minded and encouraging about his idea of an alternative family meant that he too would be willing and encouraging about my idea of an alternative family (again in my corner of suburban hell more than two children is considered [I]seriously hippie[I]).
But now that he has his ideal lifestyle he's refusing to consider more children.
I'm hurt but feel like I shouldn't be because I agree with polyamorous relationship and he never promised to have more children.
How would you react?
#2 of 7 Old 03-23-2009, 06:49 PM

I'm a bit confused by what you're saying. You're both free to have LT relationships with others. Your DH has one, but now he doesn't want to have more children with his girlfriend or with you? Are you looking for a family unit that includes more than 2 adults and their children in the same home or would his GF and her children live elsewhere?

It's us: DH , DS ; DD ; and me . Also there's the . And the 3 . I . Oh, and .
#3 of 7 Old 03-23-2009, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter

Sorry I was rambling a bit! :