Dating as a queer single parent? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 11-13-2010, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Talk to me people!

I have been single for about five years now, and I want to date. 

But I don't know how to meet people.  

How do y'all meet people to date?  Give me some ideas.

Also - everyone assumes I'm straight and married now that I have a baby.  I knew this would happen, but it's unreal. 

SPBC Finally a Papa! Elise Ember Soleil - 10/3/10 - 4:09 AM - 6 lbs 8 oz My daughter eats donor milk! Human milk for human babies!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 11 Old 11-13-2010, 08:29 PM

Hey Papa~  I'm no expert, but I think in this day and age, online dating is the way to go. If not an outright match.com kinda thing, at least a queer dating site where you could get to know people in the chats and forums.  The bar scene isn't conducive to real love, and would probably be out of the question now that you've got a little'un.  I think online's the way to go. 

Writer girl~notes2.gif~runner girl~jog.gif ~three cats~ cat.gif~ one dog~ dog2.gif~  and the wonderfully red-haired Alice Meredith, born April 8hearts.gif   

#3 of 11 Old 11-13-2010, 08:51 PM

i'm not much help i'm afraid!  i met dp playing in a pool league.  that probably isn't a possibility for you with a wee babe.

g

my family - dp d heartbeat.gif, ds b biggrinbounce.gif (4), ds f thumbsuck.gif (2), dd a baby.gif (jan '12), ddog m dog2.gif
#4 of 11 Old 11-13-2010, 09:28 PM

What about a queer parents playgroup thing. Might not be a blatant dating group but I bet there are a fair number of SPBCs who join. Or parks/library/cafes/community centers....

Me joy.gif, DP treehugger.gif, S bikenew.gif and L babyboy.gif
#5 of 11 Old 11-14-2010, 12:32 AM

I second online.  I live in the sticks.  I think I met 2 queers in 3 years.  I met my current partner online after I was single for a couple of years.