Planning Home Insemination but Need Advice! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 07-14-2011, 09:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have one son who was conceived naturally in a past relationship, but as I love being a single mother I am planning this home insemination to give my son a sibling. I am getting to know a few donors in my area in preparation for TTC in October or November. The two I'm considering are both around an hour's drive away from me. 

I guess, as I've never done this before, I'm not ENTIRELY sure how it works. I know what I want to do, which is get the sample fresh and inseminate right away by inserting it in an instead cup and leaving it in for 12 hours(will probably try to have an orgasm or two within that time). But, my question is, do most women have the donor come to them and meet somewhere close to the home to get the sample, or do they drive to the donor's home and pick up the sample?

Also, if anyone else has used free local sperm donors, what protocol do you follow before TTC? Do you get to know them through phone/email? Do you meet them a couple times before you TTC? Or is the first time you meet the day you get the first sample? I emailed various donors and narrowed it down to the two, and I've asked all the important questions. One has provided me with his doctor's papers showing good health and the other is prepared to when we meet. 

I guess I just want to get everything right and have the perfect chance to add to my family. I'm charting already to find out when I ovulate each month, and won't be TTC until at LEAST October so I have plenty of time to prepare...

#2 of 6 Old 07-14-2011, 10:17 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I hope it works out for you

#3 of 6 Old 07-15-2011, 06:31 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)